Saringsing National Writers Workshop

Click here to edit subtitle

Call for Manuscripts to the 10th SNWW

10th Saringsing National Writers Workshop and 4th San Miguel Writers Workshop now open to applications

The Parasurat Bikolnon writers organization and Central Bicol State University of Agriculture are now accepting applications to the joint SNWW-SMBWW to be held at CBSUA Calabanga Campus in Calabanga, Camarines Sur from April 16 to 19, 2020.

The workshop offers 10 fellowships to promising, returning fellows, published and mid-career Bikolano writers in the Philippines who want to have a chance to further hone their craft. Six slots will be allotted for poetry and fiction, and four slots for novel and drama. To be considered, applicants should submit manuscripts on or before February 15, 2020. All manuscripts should comply with the requirements below; failure to do so will automatically eliminate their entries. Applicants for poetry must submit a collection of 10 poems; 5 short stories for fiction; first chapter of a work in progress for novel; and 3 one-act plays for drama.

All manuscripts should be written in any of the Bikol languages or languages spoken in the region namely Central Sorsogoanon, Southern Sorsogoanon, Masbatenyo, Tagalog and their variants. The following shall be attached in the application: 1) a letter of intention which also indicates that the manuscript is original and has never been published in print or online; 2) a biographical note of writing experience, previous workshop/s attended, published works, among others; and 3) an essay on What, How and Why I Write (Ano, Pano asin Tano Ako Nagsusurat) in the preferred language of the applicant.

Manuscripts must not bare the applicant’s real name or any pseudonym, should not be more than 25 pages, and must be submitted in three hard copies. These should be encoded, double-spaced, on letter-sized bond paper with one-inch margin on all sides with pagination at the center of the bottom margin of each page (e.g., 1 of 25, 2 of 25, and so on). The font should be Bell MT or Palatino Linotype with a font size of 12 point. Soft copy of the work will be asked later from the accepted applicants.

Resident panelists who will join the panel of critics for poetry are Honesto Pesimo, Jr. and Adem Nalu Rubio; for short story, Niles Jordan Breis and Irmina Torres; for novel, Estelito Jacob, Anthony Diaz and Jerome Hipolito; and for drama, Eilyn Nidea and Bernardo Miguel Aguay, Jr. Selection committee includes Irvin Sto. Tomas, Edwin Breva, Jr., Elbert Baeta, Marissa Redburn, and guest critic Francisco Peñones, Jr.

All applications must be sent via courier to the SNWW workshop director: Irvin Sto. Tomas (09369091256) at 221 Dinaga, Canaman, Canaman, Camarines Sur, 4402; or to the SMBWW workshop director: Edwin Breva, Jr. (09473719354) at Central Bicol State University of Agriculture – Calabanga Campus, College of Education, Ratay, Sta. Cruz, Calabanga, Camarines Sur, 4405.